I Changed My Mind

TaylorRuth
4 min readFeb 5, 2022

Because sometimes the writing makes you do that.

Photo by David Matos on Unsplash

I’m not sure how you handle your “best” ideas. For me, I either sit on them or plunge in headfirst without thinking about a strategy.

This inevitably postpones the due date but allows the idea to continue it’s flow rather than stopping it and throwing it into the trashcan.

Sitting on the idea usually means I’m too afraid to execute. Not only that I’m not bold enough to even consider a plan how it could be feasible.

Executing immediately means I’m too confident or haven’t put enough thought into the logistics of whatever it is I want to create.

For some, this could be remarkably discouraging. You may be a person, like me, with ten million incomplete projects. At the beginning of a project, there always comes a moment when the time to forage onward rears its ugly face. Typically, for people like us, we just add that idea into the pile of not finished and go about our day waiting for the next idea to come along to not follow through with.

From my ten million incomplete projects I’ve learned a thing or to about myself. One is that I must give myself a due date. When I give myself a later due date, it allows me to do the…

--

--